Why Mmf?

Decorating By srs7874 Updated 24 Mar 2008 , 5:53pm by cerobs

srs7874 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
srs7874 Posted 24 Mar 2008 , 10:41am
post #1 of 12

I am fairly new to cake decorating and was wondering if someone could tell me the benefits of using MMF over Satin Ice. Can anyone share a good recipe?

Thanks!

11 replies
aswartzw Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aswartzw Posted 24 Mar 2008 , 10:49am
post #2 of 12

I like the taste and cost factor of MMF. MMF is significantly cheaper than Satin Ice by the time I add the shipping to the price. I haven't found a single store in Columbus who sells it. I use Addendum to Rhonda's MMF. It works great for me. Never had a recipe not work. Plus I can stir the color into the liquid part of the MMF without having to knead large batches.

Tona Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Tona Posted 24 Mar 2008 , 10:54am
post #3 of 12

It is the cost factor. But I find it not as easy to work with as Satin Ice. Plus I like the convience of not having to make it. But the MMF does tast good and every one likes it also. Matter of choice.

Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 24 Mar 2008 , 10:56am
post #4 of 12

I like MMF. I like the feel and taste of it. It's easy to work with and I get great results every time.

This is the recipe that I use http://whatscookingamerica.net/PegW/Fondant.htm
and I flavor it with Adams powdered flavors or Lorann oil.

If you have a Kitchenaid mixer, making MMF is really easy.

I have never tried Satin Ice. I would have to order it from somewhere, and one of the things I like best about MMF is that the ingredients come from any grocery store, which means I can go get them somewhere in the middle of the night if I need to.

tippyad Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tippyad Posted 24 Mar 2008 , 10:59am
post #5 of 12