Hand Mixer Or Stand Mixer?

Decorating By Leonda Updated 21 Mar 2008 , 7:35pm by AJsGirl

Leonda Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Leonda Posted 21 Mar 2008 , 4:36pm
post #1 of 12

I am making a cake for a baby shower. However, I am new at this and this is only my 3rd cake ever. I would like to make a cake that is very moist and not tough. The last cake I made was too tough. I am wondering if it is because I used a hand mixer and mixed it too much? I want to know the trick to making a moist, dense cake. Anyone have any ideas or recipes? Do I even need a stand mixer to do this? They are very expensive. Thank you for your assistance. icon_sad.gif

11 replies
AJsGirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AJsGirl Posted 21 Mar 2008 , 5:27pm
post #2 of 12

I don't think you NEED a stand mixer. I used a hand mixer for a long time before I got my stand mixer. Unless you're doing a very large cake, you'll be fine. If it is a humongo cake, it'll just take longer with a hand mixer, but you can still do it.

I always add a box of instant pudding mix to my recipes, as a lot of other CCer's do, and that makes a nice moist cake. And be sure not to over-beat.

Good luck! thumbs_up.gif Post pics when you're done!

ETA: Welcome to CakeCentral! party.gifbirthday.gificon_biggrin.gif

awolf24 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
awolf24 Posted 21 Mar 2008 , 5:30pm
post #3 of 12

It doesn't matter if you have a hand or stand mixer - but a cake can get tough if it is overmixed, no matter what you are using to mix it. Only mix long enough to get all the dry ingredients wet, unless the recipe calls for a specific mixing time.

If it is still tough, then it may just not be a great recipe. As AJsGirls said, adding pudding mix helps a lot. I do it all the time. icon_smile.gif

Leonda Posted 21 Mar 2008 , 5:48pm
post #4 of 12