How The @&%! Do I Appoach This Cake Request!!!please Hel

Decorating By aimers Updated 6 Apr 2008 , 9:47pm by beachcakes

aimers Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aimers Posted 19 Mar 2008 , 8:04pm
post #1 of 48

OK, So I have an order to make this picture into a D cake. I am thinking RCT covered in fondant and sprayed Silver and apply the details after but any ideas where to start with this project????
LL

47 replies
revel Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
revel Posted 19 Mar 2008 , 8:09pm
post #2 of 48

OMG!

AJsGirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AJsGirl Posted 19 Mar 2008 , 8:35pm
post #3 of 48

I second that, revel!

icon_eek.gif

Who even asked you to do this?? I'm just a novice, for sure, so my approach would be something along the lines of an edible image, plaque, or even a FBCT.

Sorry I'm not much help.

akgirl10 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
akgirl10 Posted 19 Mar 2008 , 8:49pm
post #4 of 48

I would do a fbct, but I'm still fairly new. If you do 3d, make sure it's well worth your time!

TooMuchCake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TooMuchCake Posted 19 Mar 2008 , 8:55pm
post #5 of 48

If you do that in 3D, first, charge them a bizillion dollars for it, and second, post the picture so we can see it!

I'd tell the person I'd put the picture on the cake with a transfer method of her choice, but no way I'd do that 3D.

Deanna

tippyad Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tippyad Posted 19 Mar 2008 , 9:07pm
post #6 of 48

Yea right! No way I'd be able to duplicate that! I'd stick w/ FBCT, color flow image or something of that nature. Maybe a life-time caker can give you better advice.

GOOD LUCK!!! And post your picture...can't wait to see!

Tippyad

Doug Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Doug Posted 19 Mar 2008 , 9:10pm
post #7 of 48

here's a start.

note diagram in lower right corner....
the board is not a normal shape but specially tapered toward the tail and has little wings for the knees.