No Box Mixes At Bake Sale!

Decorating By Penny7271 Updated 29 Jul 2008 , 11:27pm by MaisieBake

martmarg Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
martmarg Posted 20 Mar 2008 , 3:40am
post #61 of 148

I don't know about that school rules. I think its a PTA thing . They get to make up their own rules and they might have a very good reason as to why they asked for no box mixes or store bought anything. As to the allergy situation, unfortunately we live in an artificial worlk. There is too much pollution in our environment, artificial ingredients in our food than there was 10, 20, 30 yrs ago. It seems that every year that goes by the pollution increases and so does the illnesses and disorders. Of course the number or kids with allergies and disorders have tripled in the past years but so has the contaminants in our environment and food. I am a special ed teacher and I cannot tell you how many new illnesses and disorders are appearing. And we think this wasn't around when I was little, well neither were more than half of the preservatives in our food now adays. Not even if you try to buy organic is that safe. Nothing is organic anymore because guess what we are watering those veg. and plants with recycled water. Guess where that water comes from?

I think I went off topic. but I wouldn't donate anything if I didn't have the time. It would be interesting to find out why they asked for "homemade" items?

By the way, not being able to bring homemade food to school or other children than your own, is a law in effect that most states are adopting for various reason already mentioned in this thread.

Sun11598 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sun11598 Posted 20 Mar 2008 , 3:42am
post #62 of 148

Well...do marshmallows rolled in kool-aid with a tooth pick stuck in them count as 'homemade'?

We always had these at bake sales. No 'box mixes' there...

I'd have to send it just to see someone's reaction. Ingredients: Marshmallows, Kool-aid LOL