I'm Going To Use A 2 Qt Pyrex Bowl For A Turtle Shell

Decorating By singsing Updated 21 Mar 2008 , 12:32pm by aly1275

singsing Posted 17 Mar 2008 , 6:06pm
post #1 of 8

has anyone used one for whatever and know does it hold a whole cake mix size batter or know how many cups of batter to use?

thanks

7 replies
jadak Posted 17 Mar 2008 , 7:09pm
post #2 of 8

I used one once and, if I remember correctly, it used a whole box of cake mix. I also put a flower nail in the center while it baked. HTH

singsing Posted 18 Mar 2008 , 12:50am
post #3 of 8

thank you, that is what I had assumed and I definatly planned on the nail! One of the many gems I've learned on CC.

aly1275 Posted 18 Mar 2008 , 5:32pm
post #4 of 8

I am making the cake for my friends kid and I am new at this. I am a little leary about it/myself on making this cake. How do you make it and what is the flower nail for. I have made many other cakes for my daughter and everyone has loved them. I have never taken a lesson either so I am quite proud of myself also but I need help on this on. Does any one have any ideas for me.

singsing Posted 20 Mar 2008 , 4:23pm
post #5 of 8

Aly, are you making a turtle? I am not sure what you were saying you were making.

The flower nail in the middle (put upside down in middle of larger pans then pour in batter) Is to help the middle cook at the same time as the outside. Normally the outside of the cake cooks hotter, nearer the metal pan and heat source and the middle doesn't catch up till later and can only, then, expand upward, thus when making a cake the dome shape. Also the outside will be more dense while the middle will be fluffier. So having a metal heat source near the center helps. when you flip the cake over and out then the nail just slips out leaving only a small hole.

There are other methods too. I use wet paper towels or those pads you can buy to wrap around the outside to help slow the outside and cook on a lower temperature. I combine them for large cakes.