Suggestions, Ideas, Comments Needed

Lounge By nikki72905 Updated 18 Mar 2008 , 6:01am by nikki72905

nikki72905 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nikki72905 Posted 17 Mar 2008 , 9:43am
post #1 of 6

I need some help with a situation and how to handle/deal with it.

The situation is that where I work, as a home health aide, my client smokes - A LOT - Lately, I have been getting headaches every night (while at work) As soon as I take their dog for a walk in the morning my headache goes away. Tonight, I have a headache and my throat is killing me... However, I am not sure what all the sudden (the last few weeks) this has started happening... I have been working here 7 days a week for the last six months. I am not sure what to do, but I am tired of feeling like my head is going to pop off from these headaches.

This is a touchy situation for me because for one, jobs are really hard to find in my area, and 2 I like my client and his family, I just don't like how much he smokes (about 3 to 4 packs a day -- ) I have spoken to his live in LPN and she said that I should not feel bad if I feel I have to "move on" However, I will feel bad, because he is very picky and I know he likes me and that is actually why I work 7 days a week, because I feel bad and do not want his LPN to not have "time" off, because he told the company I work for that he did not want anyone else in and that they would cover for the days that I have off. Well, Now his LPN is not well, and that makes me feel badly as well to even ask for a day off... I would love to go to 5 days a week but I know that If I do that it will be difficult for the LPN, and all I would here is "we missed you the two days you were off" and that would make me feel incredibly bad as well.