Jam/jelly Filling?

Decorating By Angelgirl Updated 30 Mar 2008 , 4:34pm by Nathalie1970

Angelgirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Angelgirl Posted 16 Mar 2008 , 3:32am
post #1 of 16

I had a request for a blueberry jam filling with a yellow cake. I've only just started to experiment with fillings (I usually just use buttercream) so I've never used a jam before. Do you use jam/jelly straight from the jar or do you mix it with something else?

Is there a difference in using jam or jelly- or is it just a taste preference?

THANKS for any help!
Becky

15 replies
practiceandpatience Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
practiceandpatience Posted 16 Mar 2008 , 1:44pm
post #2 of 16

I have used jams and jellies as fillings. Jams are made using the fruit and the juices from the fruit, so there will be fruit pieces in the jam. Jellies are made using just the juices, thus no fruit pieces.
When using jams or jellies, you should put a thin layer of BC on your cake and let this crust, or the jam or jelly will just soak right into the cake. Though I do have a sister who prefers hers this way.
another option is to mix the jam or jelly into buttercream and use this as the filling. Remember always to make a dam before adding the filling, and to keep filling lower than the dam to keep filling from squeezing out and top layer from sliding!

JanH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JanH Posted 16 Mar 2008 , 2:04pm
post #3 of 16

When using jam/jelly/preserves, I use the two layer filling method outlined by practiceandpatience. icon_smile.gif

The cut cake slices make a lovely presentation on the plate with their bi-clored filling!

Also, the flavor contrast between the j/j/p and the b/c is an added treat.

When I mixed the j/j/p into the b/c, the mixture was pretty loose (and sweet) by the time I was able to get a strong fruit flavor. icon_sad.gif

For most flavors, icing fruits would help: