Airbrushing Questions

Decorating By dixon920 Updated 16 Mar 2008 , 1:03am by dixon920

dixon920 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dixon920 Posted 15 Mar 2008 , 9:05pm
post #1 of 3

I am kinda new to cake making..... well as more than just one or two a year but I am very ambitious, I see something and I dont stop until I figure out how I can do it. I have all brand new airbrushing supplies and would like to airbrush on my sisters baby shower cake i'll be making in about six weeks, I only have a few questions if anyone can help me I'd really appreciate it.
1. Is there a specific airbrush I have to use, or air compressor or air line? (i.e. is there a specific air compressor that's considered food grade or is it in the air line I choose?)
2. what is the best way to dilute the Wilton Gel Colors so they are not too thick for the airbrush?
3. Is there a specific type plastic I should use to make stencils if I want to make stencils? Will probably freehand most of it but for something that may need to be "uniform" I'd like to know what i can use to make the stencils

I started this self taught journey a little over a year ago in cake making.... I'm just getting into airbrushing. I guess I was lucky that my first buttercream recipe turned out AWESOME. and I have played around with fondant shapes and coloring and things as well. Cakes are just an addiction for me. Which poses another question..... does anyone have any suggestions for a buttercream icing that includes less sugar or a sugar substitute? I took a hiadus from making my cakes when i found out that I am diabetic but since losing my job due to uncontrollable injury I find myself more and more missing the cake making as I dont like being idle.