Pricing Question

Business By SweetOccasionCakes Updated 18 Mar 2008 , 6:13pm by teenycakes

SweetOccasionCakes Posted 15 Mar 2008 , 3:32pm
post #1 of 8

I am just starting out and selling cakes mostly to co-workers now. I am making a cake today for a one year party (the mom bought cupcakes at a store for the rest, go figure). It is a 6" double layer, no filling. It will have white bc icing with bc accents, nothing difficult. Since I work with her I was going to charge just over cost, wdyt? Also, I live in a SMALL town where people don't expect to pay a lot for cakes. Just wondering what your thoughts are on how much I should charge.

7 replies
kelleym Posted 15 Mar 2008 , 3:47pm
post #2 of 8

Have you figured out what your cost is? Remember that cost is more than just ingredients. Include gas for your car (you had to go shopping, right?), gas/electric for your oven/mixer, water and soap to wash your dishes afterwards.... it goes on and on. icon_biggrin.gif

Most people here will tell you that a 6" cake falls below their minimum order price, me included. My minimum order is $40, so that is what I would charge. If you've already told this lady you will charge her "just over" cost, then figure out your cost and add on what you feel comfortable with.

SweetOccasionCakes Posted 16 Mar 2008 , 12:32am
post #3 of 8

Here's a pic of the finished product. I ended up only doing one layer and it is all bc

[img]Image[/img]

indydebi Posted 16 Mar 2008 , 9:38pm
post #4 of 8

I'm glad to see it's just a one layer. I was trying to figure out how to do a 2-layer with no filling. icon_confused.gif

FromScratch Posted 17 Mar 2008 , 12:17am
post #5 of 8