Fondant

Decorating By DEE328 Updated 21 Mar 2008 , 3:28pm by DEE328

DEE328 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DEE328 Posted 13 Mar 2008 , 1:07pm
post #1 of 10

Im a newbie and this is just an opinion and would like yours ...i hate fondant wouldnt you like a cake that taste good and looks good also ? I think fondant taste awful . now some people will just pay for the pretty of it?? my husband really wants me to start doing fondant cake but i think they are a waste of time . alot of work, yes pretty? yes tasty no! so what is the fuss ???? i love to decorate in buttercream frosting my customers eat all of if instead of taken off big fondant balls and stuff ....just would like your ideas on it icon_biggrin.gif [/b]

9 replies
eatdessert1st Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
eatdessert1st Posted 13 Mar 2008 , 1:14pm
post #2 of 10

I love the look of fondant... I cannot seem to get my BC smooth enough to look really pretty. I like the MMF with some white chocolate in it and flavored w/ cream cheese flavoring... I've never had people complain about the taste. Many people eat it (my kids love the stuff!) and the ones who don't (like me) just leave it on the plate. I put a thick enough layer of BC underneath the fondant to taste good.
I've used fondant enough that I'm more comfortable with it and it isn't really much extra trouble. Just do what you're comfortable doing.

AJsGirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AJsGirl Posted 13 Mar 2008 , 1:22pm
post #3 of 10

It's all in the kind of fondant you use. I make my own, and it tastes pretty good, most people eat it. The Wilton Fondant should be used in CIA interrogation techniques. icon_lol.gif

toshaw Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
toshaw Posted 13 Mar 2008 , 1:24pm
post #4 of 10

That was a good one!! She's absolutely right - - it's AWEFUL!

luelue1971 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
luelue1971 Posted 15 Mar 2008 , 2:45pm
post #5 of 10