Cake Idea's

Decorating By Michie21 Updated 3 Jan 2007 , 1:34am by AngD

Michie21 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Michie21 Posted 2 Jan 2007 , 3:15pm
post #1 of 11

Hi Everyone!

I was asked to do a cake for a friends' husband. He's a carpenter by trade and loves his job! I'm trying to think of a cute idea for his birthday cake. I wanted to keep it fairly simple but also make it nice. Any suggestions for a Carpenters Birthday Cake???

Thanks in advance for the help!!

10 replies
AngD Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AngD Posted 2 Jan 2007 , 3:26pm
post #2 of 11

How about making different fondant tools, a saw, tape measure, screw driver, hammer, maybe spell happy birthday in fondant nails. what do ya think?

bobwonderbuns Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bobwonderbuns Posted 2 Jan 2007 , 3:34pm
post #3 of 11

Yes, if you know anything about molding chocolates they have a toolbox with tools mold out there. My hubby is a handyman so I make those for him sometimes and put them on top of cakes -- he loves it!

vickymacd Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
vickymacd Posted 2 Jan 2007 , 3:35pm
post #4 of 11

I thought similar, but making the tools out of chocolate (which they have molds for) and making a tool box out of cake.
Or maybe a fondant apron that they wear with his name on the top like Home Depot; or one of the half aprons with the tools sticking out of it. I like the nail spelling too!

BrandisBaked Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BrandisBaked Posted 2 Jan 2007 , 3:44pm
post #5 of 11

I once did a cake where I worked for a construction worker. It was a KopyKake image, but I thought it was cute. Probably not what you're looking for, but I thought it might help spark ideas.

http://www.brandibabe.net/pics/v/Cakes/PP+Cakes+007.jpg.html

Keep in mind that I had to complete cakes in 20 minutes or less - so it's not that great. *sigh*

Granpam Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Michie21 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile