Food Dehydrators - Any Tips Or Advice?

Decorating By Sweetfrost Updated 26 Mar 2007 , 8:41pm by bobwonderbuns

Sweetfrost Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sweetfrost Posted 26 Dec 2006 , 9:10am
post #1 of 10

Hi there, I only recently found out that some decorators use food dehydrators for drying their sugar items. I have been decorating for 15 years & can't believe it's taken me this long to find this out (thanks CC users, you are AWESOME!) I am in the process of purchasing one with enough spacers to give me the height I need to dry my figurines. Just wondering if anyone can give any advice on them, how long they take to dry differerent things, anything! I don't really know anything about them & are they worth the money? I currently just air dry everything which takes weeks. Thank you so much, Irene

9 replies
cupcake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cupcake Posted 26 Dec 2006 , 9:17am
post #2 of 10

I have used the dehydrator for many different things, but for your sugar work, you will have to experiment with the time element. So much is a factor in sugar work, humidity for sure. The thickness of your particular piece would be a factor, Most things I would say will take several days to dry well. If you will be doing alot of things in sugar, then this process may help in speeding up your pieces.

sweet_as_tisse Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweet_as_tisse Posted 26 Dec 2006 , 9:33am
post #3 of 10

can't help with your question, but just wanted to welcome you to the forums, Irene...

hope you had a fantastic christmas....

cheers

kylie

kincaellan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kincaellan Posted 27 Dec 2006 , 4:30am
post #4 of 10