Delivering A Wedding Cake - Do I Finish It There?

Decorating By lallathinm Updated 26 May 2015 , 10:47pm by Magic Mouthfuls

lallathinm Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lallathinm Posted 30 Oct 2007 , 3:44pm
post #1 of 25

I am delivering a wedding cake for a wedding. This cake is 3 butter cream tiers, and it will need a piping design between each tier to cover the seams. I assume I will have to finish the cake on the spot? I don't know of another way because It seems like it would be impossible to deliver a 3 tier cake all put together. I have attached a picture similar to what I will be doing: (I copied this from the gallery! It is such a beautiful cake!) Do you all spend time at the wedding finishing cakes?
LL

24 replies
jenidot Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jenidot Posted 30 Oct 2007 , 3:48pm
post #2 of 25

I am by NO means an expert on this as I have never done a wedding cake before, but when I took my cake decorating class I was told that you can transport up to a 3 tiered finished cake. I guess you would just need someone close by to spot it! But just make sure you dowel everything really well and take extra icing for any uh-ohs.

Hope this helps,

Jennifer

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 30 Oct 2007 , 3:55pm
post #3 of 25

You have to consider the weight of the cake. Those are very very heavy! And even if you do manage to be able to lift it and carry it long distances .... ("Turn left at the first hall, go to the very end, then right, then ALL THE WAY to the end to the banquet room." Yeah .... happened to me this past weekend!) .... AND if you have to open any doors, have someone with you .... no way you can hold a 3-tier cake in one hand while you try to open a heavy banquet room door.

I've only recently started transporting the cake partially transported, but 99% are trasnported separately and assembled/finished at the site.

mcassada Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mcassada Posted 30 Oct 2007 , 5:45pm