Do You Know Marie??from Everybody Loves Raymond?

Decorating By jehu Updated 30 Oct 2007 , 6:22am by Ursula40

jehu Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jehu Posted 29 Oct 2007 , 9:09pm
post #1 of 10

Well, I have a relative just like her that will be here for Thanksgiving. Needless to say, I am looking for an idea that will impress her!! I am just finishing up the Wilton 3rd course and start course 4 next week. I would like to do something with basketweave...Maybe with fondant scarecrows and pumpkins on top?? I have never tried sculpting from fondant before...What do you think??

9 replies
paolacaracas Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
paolacaracas Posted 29 Oct 2007 , 9:16pm
post #2 of 10

I think the main thing about this type is that no matter what you do they are NEVER impressed, so my advice to you is to do what YOU like and enjoy and don't put your hopes on her.

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 29 Oct 2007 , 9:20pm
post #3 of 10

Especially if she's like Marie! icon_lol.gif

KonfectionKonnection Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KonfectionKonnection Posted 29 Oct 2007 , 9:20pm
post #4 of 10

You have my sincerest sympathies--My MIL is just like Marie on that show, and drives me crazy. (Yes, she has even alterred recipes, just so my attempt will not taste like hers.) icon_confused.gif

That off my chest, I think something w/ basketweave and fondant figures would be great. You could practice the figurines and have them done early. (That would also give you more control, so that they either look perfect, or you have time to come up w/ Plan B if you don't like them.) And basketweave always seems to impress people.

(There is hope--My MIL actually liked her birthday cake this past year. I remembered she loved daisies, and made her a cake covered with daisies.)

Good luck--and post pictures! thumbs_up.gif

judylynnturner Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
judylynnturner Posted 29 Oct 2007 , 9:26pm
post #5 of 10