Bc On Cake Melting As I Am Decorating

Decorating By Tiababe Updated 26 Oct 2007 , 7:13pm by indydebi

Tiababe Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Tiababe Posted 26 Oct 2007 , 4:59pm
post #1 of 6

Hi everyone...I am a newbie with lots of questions. But let me start off with the one I have most recently encountered. I put a BC crumb coat on my cake then put it in the fridge for an hour. Took the cake out, put the next layer of icing on and back in the fridge the cake went. I pulled it out two hours later to add some BC pumpkins and vines. As I am doing this, I notice that the layer of icing started getting soft and shiny. The cake was under my kitchen light...but I have a small table with little room to work. Any ideas or tips to keep my BC layer from doing this? TIA

5 replies
mmgiles Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mmgiles Posted 26 Oct 2007 , 5:54pm
post #2 of 6

It sounds to me like is condensation from taking it out of the fridge. Depending on your buttercream, it probably doesnt need to be refriderated and that might help. Buttercream can me different consistencies, depend on how much liquid it has in it. It could be that you have a medium consistency or a thin instead of a firm frosting. No matter what consistency it is, when you put it in the fridge it will become firmer because the butter and shortening are hardening. If your house is around 70 degrees the frosting should not melt, but it will begin to soften to the same consistency as when you iced the cake.

mmgiles Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mmgiles Posted 26 Oct 2007 , 5:55pm
post #3 of 6