Need Help! Fbct Or Another Method?

Decorating By texasseegirl Updated 26 Oct 2007 , 4:34pm by mracker27

texasseegirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
texasseegirl Posted 25 Oct 2007 , 5:56am
post #1 of 8

I am doing an Elmo cake for Friday and want some opinions on how to approach this. First off, I can't free-hand anything so that is out of the question as an option! thumbsdown.gif

I have the image that I want to use on the cake and thought about doing a FBCT (which I have never done before) but I do not want a flat look. I want to be able to use the grass tip to make Elmo's fur and I want to have the bulging eyes and nose.

Is there a modified FBCT that I can do to just transfer the outline to the cake? I've heard of the pinprick method, but that sounds like it could be tedious and dangerous with my unsteady hands! icon_rolleyes.gif

Any suggestions or words of encouragement would be much appreciated. icon_smile.gif

7 replies
tobycat Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tobycat Posted 25 Oct 2007 , 6:09am
post #2 of 8

Since you want to make him look furry, then you don't have to worry about what the FBCT will look like if you use it as your guide. Make and fbct of Elmo and position it on the cake. Then, use a smaller star tip, like a 13 or 14 and use that to make him look furry. You can do longer pull out stars on him (see in my pics of the baby's face with the hat -- the ball on top looks furry this way). The grass tip might work, but it wouldn't be my first choice. If you like it and can get it to work for you though, then go for it! You can make a couple of mounds of white for his eyes and flatten them with a little cornstarch on our finger.

So, in effect, you'll use the fbct as your guide and completely cover it over. Consider beforehand whether you want to put the eyes on first and do the fur around them or place the eyes on the fur after you're finished.