It's Taunting Me & It's Pure Evil!!!!!!!

Decorating By Luby Updated 22 Oct 2007 , 2:37am by jibbies

Luby Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Luby Posted 20 Oct 2007 , 11:03pm
post #1 of 18

I've never done fondant before - I'm strictly a buttercream gal. I decided to try and teach myself how to do a fondant covered cake. I bought a 5 pound tub of Satin Ice, the fondant smoother, the fondant rolling pin, the mat, and the fondant cutter. It's all sitting on my dining table lined up nice and neat.

Every time I walk by it I look at it and it's like its taken on a life of its' own - just staring back at me daring me to touch it - it's possessed icon_evil.gif

I'm skeered icon_cry.gif

17 replies
OzCookie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
OzCookie Posted 20 Oct 2007 , 11:12pm
post #2 of 18

Funnily enough - I had the opposite problem!

In Australia, "American-style" decorating has been a bit slow to take off, so almost everything is done with fondant!

I bought loads of buttercream "tools", but have had what is almost panic attacks at the thought of using them!

Take heart, in my eyes, if you can work with buttercream, fondant is a walk in the park! thumbs_up.gif

Luby Posted 20 Oct 2007 , 11:06pm
post #3 of 18

I wish I could come visit you and we could teach each other icon_lol.gif

Luby Posted 20 Oct 2007 , 11:07pm
post #4 of 18

How come these posts are out of order? icon_confused.gif

OzCookie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
OzCookie Posted 20 Oct 2007 , 11:22pm
post #5 of 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luby

Yeah, I've noticed this a couple of times! I just thought we had some psychic members, answering queations before they were asked! icon_lol.gificon_lol.gif

Come on over, anytime!

Luby Posted 20 Oct 2007 , 11:30pm
post #6 of 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by OzCookie

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luby

Yeah, I've noticed this a couple of times! I just thought we had some psychic members, answering queations before they were asked! icon_lol.gificon_lol.gif