Quitting My Cake Decorating Classes (Vent)

Decorating By soozun Updated 27 Oct 2007 , 4:51am by CoutureCake

soozun Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
soozun Posted 20 Oct 2007 , 10:51pm
post #1 of 28

I've been trying to do the Wilton classes at my local craft store and I think I'm at a point where I might quit the classes. I'm just feeling a little discouraged. So I decided to post this under "disasters" because that's how I feel! This ship is about to go down...

First of all, all my cakes have been disappointing to me so far, that is...the ones I have managed to complete. I keep telling myself I'm just learning, but it does get discouraging when you see how your efforts are either incomplete (running out of time in class) or just sloppy or poorly done. Part of the fault lies with me because I am slow and tend to be lazy in general. But I really want cake decorating to be an area where I do my best. So then when I really try hard, I want it to be good...and so far it's at best "average". Ok, fine. I'm just learning, right!

But then starting in course 2, I started having problems getting baby sitting and transportation arranged. I also got sick. So I missed a class, and then I missed the final class, so I didn't finish and get the certificate.

No big deal. I actually wanted to take the class again. But when I tried to sign up, the people who answered the phone acted like they didn't know what was going on with the schedule, and so then I ended up taking course 3. No big deal. You can take them out of order. I actually love the idea of doing a tiered cake and working with fondant (plus making more royal icing flower with a lily nail!!!)

But now since starting this 3rd course, I missed ANOTHER class due to family demands. Ugh. I thought it was not a big deal because I'd just make my present cake at home.