Getting Powder Sugar Or Cornstarch Off Finished Fondant?

Decorating By bmcd17 Updated 20 Oct 2007 , 6:50pm by bmcd17

bmcd17 Posted 19 Oct 2007 , 8:35pm
post #1 of 17

I have tried searching to find something on this with no luck. I am pretty new to cake decorating, so please forgive me if there is an obvious answer. When you roll out MMF or regular fondant and use powder sugar or cornstarch underneath it and on the roller how do you get that off the fondant after you put the fondant on the cake? It seems like it still has a slight "powdery" look to it because it has been rolled in and with the powder sugar or cornstarch. (I watch Ace of Cakes and when they are decorating the fondant sometimes I see that powdery look I'm talking about on it, but then when they show the finished cake the fondant is all nice and clean looking).

16 replies
Erdica Posted 19 Oct 2007 , 8:40pm
post #2 of 17

I use a blush cosmetic brush to get the extra powdered sugar of my fondant pieces. It's soft enough that it won't break of pieces.

GL!

cakequeen50 Posted 19 Oct 2007 , 9:44pm
post #3 of 17

Duff uses vodka to get the powder sugar off.

cavegirl Posted 20 Oct 2007 , 2:04am
post #4 of 17

Vodka? Maybe I'm being dense, if so, sorry...but does he swab it on or brush it? How does he apply it? I am new to fondant and have the same problem. Thanks!

flowers40 Posted 20 Oct 2007 , 2:04am
post #5 of 17

You brush it on with a paint brush. It dries super quick, which keeps your piece from getting sticky. This is how they remove excess powder sugar or cornstarch from their cakes as Ace Of Cakes. Usually it is only the dark colors you are unable to dry brush to remove this access.

MommaLlama Posted 20 Oct 2007 , 2:13am
post #6 of 17

I bet airbrushing Vodka on would work

cavegirl Posted 20 Oct 2007 , 2:20am
post #7 of 17

Thanks, I'll have to try it. I can imagine the Julia Child jokes already when DH comes home to find me with fondant in one hand and a bottle of Schmirnoff in the other!