Help, Need Recipe From Acd Magazine June/july 06

Baking By ssunshine564 Updated 19 Oct 2007 , 3:22pm by ssunshine564

ssunshine564 Posted 19 Oct 2007 , 2:49pm
post #1 of 3

I am looking for a recipe that was in the June/July 2006 Issue of American Cake Decorating. My mom made it and it was sooo good. Well, I need the recipe and she can't find her magazine. icon_confused.gif The cake was a chocolate with a peanut butter type frosting, I believe it is in the middle of the magazine. If anyone has it could you please share the recipe?

Thanks

Sorry about deleting my previous post, I am still learning. icon_smile.gif

2 replies
DianeLM Posted 19 Oct 2007 , 3:15pm
post #2 of 3

Knock Your Socks Off Chocolate PB Cake

2 cups cake flour
2/3 cup cocoa
1-1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1-1/2 cups sugar
1/2 cup shortening
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup buttermilk
1/2 cup cold coffee or water
1 cup peanut butter chips
1/2 cup coffee-flavored liqueur, cold coffee or water
Peanut Butter Cream cheese Frosting
1 pkg (14 oz) one-inch peanut butter cup candies, coarsely chopped
Chocolate Mocha Cream Cheese Icing
1 cup finely chopped peanuts

Heat oven to 350F. Grease the bottom and sides of 2 round pans, 9x1-1/2 inches, with shortening, and lightly flour. Mix flour, cocoa, baking soda, and salt in a medium bowl and set aside. Beat sugar, shortening, eggs, and vanilla in medium bowl with an electric mixer on medium speed, occasionally scraping the bowl, until blended. Beat in buttermilk and coffee, then gradually beat in the flour mixture. Be sure to beat after each addition until the resulting mixture is smooth. Stir in peanut butter chips, then pour the mixture into pans.