Soooooo Over... My Head

Decorating By Machel Updated 19 Oct 2007 , 3:28pm by bcake1960

Machel Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Machel Posted 19 Oct 2007 , 1:37pm
post #1 of 15

so I am a super novice who can't even really make shells and couldn't make a BC rose to save my life. I have done a couple birthday cakes and stuff but mostly for free just to get started. So an old friend called to say she is getting married again and asked if I wanted to do her cake. I said yea and we agreed that I would do it as a gift. Well now she tells me that it is for 200 people!!!!! I don't have a clue how to do something like that! I figured second marriage for her, 3rd for him and they would do something little in their house for maybe 50 max. What is a giant wedding cake without flowers???? Any advise on easy, easy cakes that look nice? Thank goodness I have until April!!!

Machel

14 replies
Sunflower08 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sunflower08 Posted 19 Oct 2007 , 2:14pm
post #2 of 15

You can always use fresh flowers.. That's what I do because I can't do flowers either! My first wedding cake is in my pictures if you want to check it out..I'm working on another tonight that I will post pictures of tomorrow..
Good Luck!!

kelleym Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kelleym Posted 19 Oct 2007 , 2:39pm
post #3 of 15

First of all, take deep breaths. icon_smile.gif April is a long way away. Practice, practice, practice. Make cakes for anyone and everyone you know. Get a styrafoam dummy and practice frosting it. The hardest part of a wedding cake is getting the icing smooth and the cake straight and level. If you can do that, place some fresh flowers and a bead border on it, and boom you're done. Remember, a wedding cake is just a lot of little cakes. Check out the Wilton site for lots of possible size combinations:

http://www.wilton.com/wedding/cakeinfo/choosing/index.cfm

Here is one of my very simple wedding cakes with fresh flowers.