I Have ?'s About Using My New Ka!!!

Decorating By susies1955 Updated 19 Oct 2007 , 7:46am by susies1955

susies1955 Posted 18 Oct 2007 , 5:11pm
post #1 of 31

I used my new KA this morning making a chocolate cake and some raspberry flavored buttercream. It found it very awkward. It took me MUCH longer than just using my hand beater. I'm assuming it is because I'm new to it but will I really grow to like my new KA? I mean it does the same thing as my hand beater. I didn't know what I was doing.
One gal said to put my liquid ingredients into the bowl first, start beating them and then add the cake mix. By doing this I don't have to stop & scrape down the sides of the bowl but I was using butter and had to cream it. The butter didn't seem to want to cream. I used the flat beater.
For my icing I used the whip to cream the butter and that seemed to work better.
I couldn't figure out weather I like the pour shield or not. I keep taking it off to stir the sides in and putting it back on to pour stuff into it and taking it off because it seemed weird to use. It didn't seem to get all incorporated very fast and without my help a few times by scraping the sides and bottom. Yes, it is adjusted right.
Am I normal?????????? LOL!
I'm assuming I'll be like ALL of the rest of you later down the road saying it is the best thing ever.
Thanks. I love this forum. icon_smile.gif
Susie

30 replies
tnuty Posted 18 Oct 2007 , 5:21pm
post #2 of 31

I may take a little longer than with your hand beater because with your hand beater you can move it all around. What you will grow to love is the fact that you can do something else while it is beating and it can handle a larger volume than your hand mixer can the beaters are only so big..It will take a little getting used. I think you will love the size and convience of having one rather than the fact that it is faster or slower. I love the fact that I can turn it on and walk away if I have to. Im sure you will grow to love it.