What's This Worth To You???

Decorating By lilmansmum Updated 20 Oct 2007 , 2:13pm by cakes47

lilmansmum Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lilmansmum Posted 15 Oct 2007 , 10:02pm
post #1 of 19

I made this gumball machine cake for my little boy's 8th birthday this weekend. Thanks to all the fellow CCers who gave me some awesome ideas!

I know that prices vary by region, but I'd like to get a general idea of what to charge for a cake like this. I'm not in business, but I have been doing more and more cakes. It started just for family and friends, but as I get more experience, I get more requests. (I've been decorating for eight years now.) I'm just not sure how much something like this is worth. Of course, I think it's priceless, simply because I enjoy doing it, and I only decorate cakes because of the satisfaction I get out of the finished product. icon_biggrin.gif ...but anyway, I have a feeling I may be doing another of these in the future, so what do you think?

Oh, and it's five layers of WASC, iced in buttercream, with fondant details.

This is also posted in my photos.
LL

18 replies
KoryAK Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KoryAK Posted 15 Oct 2007 , 10:16pm
post #2 of 19

Awesome! Hard to tell the size exactly and how many it would feed... but I would charge $200 at least

jo_ann Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jo_ann Posted 15 Oct 2007 , 11:08pm
post #3 of 19

I have to agree with KoryAK. I'd get at least $200.00 for it.

kelleym Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kelleym Posted 16 Oct 2007 , 6:48pm
post #4 of 19

I agree, $200 minimum.

artist63 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
artist63 Posted 16 Oct 2007 , 7:44pm
post #5 of 19

that is just amazing. around these parts I would guess upwards of $200.00+

Teekakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Teekakes Posted 16 Oct 2007 , 8:12pm
post #6 of 19

Ditto to the others..........$200.00 MINIMUM but I would personally put a 250.00 price on it.