Best Bc To Use Under Mmf

Decorating By DCHall Updated 19 Dec 2006 , 9:16pm by Parable

DCHall Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DCHall Posted 18 Dec 2006 , 8:54pm
post #1 of 6

I am completely new to cake decorating. I want to make a birthday cake for my daughter's 1st bday. What is the best bc recipe to use as a crumb coat? I attempted to cover a practice cake in rolled buttercream with an apricot glaze as a crumb coat. It was a disater. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

5 replies
cmcgarr Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cmcgarr Posted 19 Dec 2006 , 2:33am
post #2 of 6

I always use SMBC (swiss meringue buttercream) because it does not harden. If you use a crusting/hardening bc, it can be bumpy underneath and can tear the fondant. There are SMBC recipes on the CC website. I use egg whites in the carton (they're pasteurized and you can't contaminate them with yolk).

ALSO, if you want a nice smooth edge using SMBC, put the cake in the freezer for 10 min after you've masked it, and use a bench scraper to smooth the top and sides of the cake!

Hope this helps!

cakemommy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakemommy Posted 19 Dec 2006 , 3:00am
post #3 of 6

WOW!!! That's great to know!!! Thank you both for asking the question and answering it.

Amy

DCHall Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DCHall Posted 19 Dec 2006 , 4:25pm
post #4 of 6

Thanks. That is some good advice. Would IMBC also work because it does not harden?

cmcgarr Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cmcgarr Posted 19 Dec 2006 , 8:51pm
post #5 of 6

I don't use IMBC, but I'm sure it would work as well! icon_biggrin.gif

Parable Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Parable Posted 19 Dec 2006 , 9:16pm
post #6 of 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by DCHall