How Did You Get Started W/ Cake Decorating?

Decorating By natalie102503 Updated 13 Oct 2007 , 7:54am by Iloveweddings

natalie102503 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
natalie102503 Posted 13 Oct 2007 , 2:36am
post #1 of 7

I've always been interested in cake decorating but never really thought about doing it myself. I realized that I need a hobby, so I figured what better way to express my artistic abilities than by cake decorating. icon_smile.gif Actually, I wanted to make cute cupcakes and now I've kind of moved on to big cakes.

I am absolutely clueless and am just curious how the rest of you got started. Did you attend cake decorating classes? I went to sign up for some classes at Michaels, but they're booked until December. So, I want to learn as much as I can on my own before taking the classes (maybe I won't even need them at all).

Sorry if this question is asked a lot - I'm a newbie!

6 replies
cakequeen50 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakequeen50 Posted 13 Oct 2007 , 2:49am
post #2 of 7

My baker father owned a bakery and when I was a newly divorced, single mom, he gave me a job in his bakery. I was a counter clerk, dishwasher, donut finisher and he said, "I'm going to teach you how to decorate cakes..." I said, "but I don't want to decorate cakes".....here I am 33 years later and my 87 yr old Father is extremely proud. Out of 5 kids, I am the only one that went into the business. He was visiting me for a few weeks and I took him on my deliveries and he was really happy.

natalie102503 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
natalie102503 Posted 13 Oct 2007 , 2:51am
post #3 of 7

Oh wow, that was a great story!

Now I totally feel unworthy of cake decorating! icon_smile.gif

EmmyD Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
EmmyD Posted 13 Oct 2007 , 3:24am
post #4 of 7