Help!!!! - First Paid Cake Ruined!

Decorating By summerolivia Updated 13 Oct 2007 , 3:31pm by ahuvas

summerolivia Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
summerolivia Posted 12 Oct 2007 , 9:08pm
post #1 of 11

Ok - I am still new to this whole thing, and I just baked my first 11x15 cake. It completely fell apart on me when I tried to turn it out of the pan. I let it cool for 10 minutes, and the pan was well greased and floured (the problem was not sticking to the pan). Is there a secret to flipping a large cake out of the pan and then back over so that it can be leveled? How do you transfer a cake that size to stack on another layer, also? I hope this all makes sense. This is my first paying customer, and I am kind of under a time crunch here!!!!

10 replies
Cupcake_Kisses Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cupcake_Kisses Posted 12 Oct 2007 , 9:18pm
post #2 of 11

hi, sorry to hear about your cake troubles. what kind of cooling rack are you using? What I normally do is let the cake cool for 10 or so mins and then put the cooling rack on top of the cake and grab hold of the whole thing and flip it. I would then leave it on the rack to completely cool before trying to move it again. I've had breakages before and learnt from my mistakes. lol
I use a couple of HUGE spatula's to lift the cake once cooled and also when torting and putting layers together.

hope that helps and good luck! icon_razz.gif

hsmomma Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hsmomma Posted 12 Oct 2007 , 9:56pm
post #3 of 11

After cooling it for 10-20 minutes...Put the cooling rack on top of your baked cake that is still in the pan and flip it over. Then let it set like that until the bottom of the cake (which is now facing up) is cool enough to touch then put your cake board on top of it (so your cake is "sandwhiched" between the cooling rack and your cake board) then flip it back over. Then the "right side" will be up and you can level it.