Classes Vs. Practice

Decorating By doughdough Updated 12 Oct 2007 , 3:39am by KathysCC

doughdough Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
doughdough Posted 11 Oct 2007 , 7:00pm
post #1 of 18

I apologize in advance if this topic has already been covered, but here goes:

I have been in hard-core decorating mode for a couple of years now, and up to this point I am completely self-taught. I own literally dozens of decorating how-to books, including all of Colette Peters' books and all of the Wilton Yearbooks dating back to 1970! (yes, I know, pretty obsessive!)

I do have Wilton classes in my area, and I am curious to see what you CC'ers think about them.

Are classes worth the time and money? Or am I better off using the money toward more supplies and continue to practice on my own?

17 replies
WendyB Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
WendyB Posted 11 Oct 2007 , 7:28pm
post #2 of 18

What do you think you are good at and what do you not feel confident with?

Which classes might benefit you would depend on what your strengths and weaknesses are.

Tomoore Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Tomoore Posted 11 Oct 2007 , 7:36pm
post #3 of 18

I am really on the fence regarding Wilton courses. I would recommend you by the book for each course, practice the techniques taught on your own. If you feel you are having a tough time mastering them alone, sign up for the course.

mcalhoun Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mcalhoun Posted 11 Oct 2007 , 7:37pm
post #4 of 18

you may be better off trying to find a cake supply store in your area that teaches classes. I took Wilton and it was a great start but you may already be beyond that. I am lucky to have a shop about 30 minutes from me that I have taken lots of classes at. In fact I was going to take a class with Bronwen on Sunday but I think the Coach purse I just bought will have to be my big purchase for this week.

kaseynh Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kaseynh Posted 11 Oct 2007 , 7:40pm
post #5 of 18