Faux Fondant

Decorating By deb12g Updated 7 Sep 2014 , 3:17am by bakermeister

deb12g Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
deb12g Posted 14 Dec 2006 , 7:18pm
post #1 of 14

Have any of you every worked with it? I found the recipe on CC, but haven't tried it. Would like to know pros & cons, & how it compares to buttercream & fondant.

13 replies
sweetlybaked Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetlybaked Posted 14 Dec 2006 , 7:24pm
post #2 of 14

Faux fondant is buttercream. Faux fondant is actually a tecnique to make buttercream look like fondant. If this isn't what you're talking about, maybe you're talking about marshmallow fondant? I've done the faux fondant tecnique, and it works well. I've never worked w/ MMF before, though. HTH!

deb12g Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
deb12g Posted 14 Dec 2006 , 7:32pm
post #3 of 14

Does it look as smooth as fondant?

ShirleyW Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ShirleyW Posted 14 Dec 2006 , 7:45pm
post #4 of 14

Well, here is a Faux Fondant I did in Italian meringue buttercream. Is it smooth? Yes. Does it look like fondant? Debateable. I spent 2 hours icing this one little 6" cake.
LL

sweetlybaked Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetlybaked Posted 14 Dec 2006 , 7:58pm
post #5 of 14

I think if you practice enough it would look just like fondant. If you look at Squirrley Cakes' cakes, her's look just like fondant, they are AMAZINGLY smooth!

doescakestoo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
doescakestoo Posted 14 Dec 2006 , 8:14pm
post #6 of 14

It is different when you "tare" it you can repair it. You can't with Fondant. It does stretch more also. So be carefull when putting on the cake. Where with fondant you want it to go below the cake you want the cake flat on the table so that BC fondant wont stretch off the cake. HTH

ShirleyW Posted 14 Dec 2006 , 8:38pm
post #7 of 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by debiashwood