I'm A Bit Miffed By A Chepo Bride...

Decorating By stlalohagal Updated 9 Jan 2007 , 5:42am by aobodessa

stlalohagal Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
stlalohagal Posted 11 Dec 2006 , 5:51am
post #1 of 118

Ok here's the deal. A 'friend' at church is getting married (I say friend but we don't know each other, other than church.) and she needs a cake. The wedding is Jan 6th so about 2 weeks ago she throws her arm around me and says we've got to talk about cakes because she heard I was asked to do someone else's for April. Anyway I get her them, look up some pictures, snowflakes, and do some RI samples of them, and get it all to her. I suggest a price of $1 pp. I know that's really cheap. I called around here in STL and got a min of $1.35 pp to up there. I even posted here to see what folks charged. Now granted I'm still in my 3rd Wilton Course but I think I'm pretty good (you can check my pics to judge for yourself). I'm no professional or seasoned decorator so I thought I'd give her a break and go for the $1 pp. So in talking with her today she says she just can't afford $1 per person,.. that's $200 they just don't have. I said well the ingredients alone is $65-70 and that was padded up from the $53 the cake matrix figured for me. She only wants a couple of sheet cakes and the small three tiered (no pillars) cake. I went back in and figured in the cake matrix what if she only gave me .50 cents pp and that only pays me $1.80 per hour based on 24 hours. No it won't take me 24 hours but when you add in the talking, the research, the planning, etc... well yep you're at 24+ hours. I would really like to do the cake as it would be a first opportunity. As a newbie and wanting to get my name about I'm still interested. Am I crazy ???? icon_cry.gif

- Paula

117 replies
Chef_Stef Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Chef_Stef Posted 11 Dec 2006 , 5:58am
post #2 of 118