What Do You Consider "acceptable Flaws" ? (See Pi

Business By crazy4sugar Updated 9 Oct 2007 , 7:55pm by crazy4sugar

crazy4sugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
crazy4sugar Posted 5 Oct 2007 , 8:08pm
post #1 of 48

I'm new at this, and I'm also a bit of a perfectionist. So, I sit here looking at my first tiered cake and say "Wow, that really sucks...it looked so much better in my mind." Please take a look at the photo below.

I know each cake has some flaws, but mine has quite a few. Please tell me...how do I know what's an acceptable flaw and what's not? Is it a gut feeling? When do I call a cake a complete loss and start over? Should I do that here?

Specifically, as you can see, with this cake I have these problems:

1. First layer: the fondant job is horrific. I couldn't roll a piece big enough for the 14" square so I covered the sides and then the top with panels of fondant.

2. Middle Tier: I have a few small spots of cracked fondant and there's a bit of "cake cellulite" on one side.

3. Top Tier: I had a perfect cake to start with, done with a ruler and squared, but I didn't chill the IMBC long enough and my fondant weighed it down when the icing softened. Also, I have the four panels instead of one piece of fondant because I wanted a gift box look. Now the square looks awful.

Please give me some genuine advice and constructive criticism!! I still have time to re-do the first square layer (and possibly the top tier as well), so..... please, please don't sugar coat your suggestions.

Thanks for taking the time to read this!
LL

47 replies
crazy4sugar Posted 5 Oct 2007 , 8:10pm
post #2 of 48

I guess I should add that the first tier has a perfect finish to the fondant, very smooth, but the decorations make it look wonky. The bow looks great in person, very shiny icon_smile.gif

JoAnnB Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JoAnnB Posted 5 Oct 2007 , 8:30pm
post #3 of 48

Well it depends on what the cake is for. Overall, it looks very cute.