How Do You Make Mmf Not Look So Dry...

Decorating By branbrielliott2 Updated 5 Oct 2007 , 1:18pm by Danielle111

branbrielliott2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
branbrielliott2 Posted 4 Oct 2007 , 11:41am
post #1 of 11

I have been practicing for this weekend..doing a barbie cake..but it just looks so dry....should I put more crisco on my hands and knead more to give it a shine....I am going to have it just sit out in the open the night before the party and I really dont want it to look that dry....any special way to let it sit...MMF gets really hard over night also... For some reason I thought it wouldnt be that hard....its almost like you have to remove it from the cake before you even cut.....any tips please let me know I am at a lost.....thanks

10 replies
chef_ang Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chef_ang Posted 4 Oct 2007 , 11:55am
post #2 of 11

I would love to help you. but i don't know what mmf stands for. I can not think of what that would be. I am new to the community and learning all the abbreveations. but i have been in the cake business for like 7years.

what is MMF?

armywife1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
armywife1 Posted 4 Oct 2007 , 12:01pm
post #3 of 11

MMF stands for marshmallow fondant.

FlowerGirlMN Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FlowerGirlMN Posted 4 Oct 2007 , 12:01pm
post #4 of 11

Roll it out on crisco instead of powder.

Before it gets too dry, you could put a bit of crisco on your palm and sort of polish it.

chele_belle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chele_belle Posted 4 Oct 2007 , 12:02pm
post #5 of 11

Use crisco when kneading it that will help.

MMF= marshmallow fondant.

HTH
(hope this helps)

Katrinagarrett1980 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Katrinagarrett1980 Posted 4 Oct 2007 , 12:02pm
post #6 of 11

I used Rhonda's ultimate MMF Recipe... mine did not harden overnight, but I would also like to know how to make it shinier.