Candy Molds - How Do I Use It? Stupid Question, I Know

Decorating By Momofjakeandjosh Updated 3 Oct 2007 , 4:10pm by pottedmeatchunks

Momofjakeandjosh Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Momofjakeandjosh Posted 3 Oct 2007 , 3:14pm
post #1 of 5

I ordered the candy molds of tools to use on my son's cake. He wants a tool cake and I love the peg board ones on here. I tried making tools of fondant without success. My sons could make better ones out of playdough, I'm no artist. So, I got the candy molds. I was hoping it came with instructions, but no such luck. So, bare with my stupidity here and help me! I've never used these before. Here are my questions:

1. What kind of candy do you melt to pour in there? Do you use those disk looking ones at Michaels or do you get something else?

2. When you pour it in, I'm assuming you refrigerate it to harden right? How do you make it smooth in the back or does that do it automatically?

3. How do you get the candy out in one piece? Does it just fall out or do you peel the mold off? Do I spray cooking spray on the mold before pouring the candy in?

4. How do you get the two tone color? Like the screwdriver one color and the gray tip part the other color? Won't the first color run all over the bottom of the mold when I pour it in?

I'm sure I have more questions, but I can't think of any right now, so any other helpful hints you've found with candy molds would be appreciated. Thanks in advance!

4 replies
ziggytarheel Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ziggytarheel Posted 3 Oct 2007 , 3:27pm
post #2 of 5

Candy molds are REALLY easy, I promise!