Please Help A Complete Beginner!

Baking By joquita Updated 6 Dec 2006 , 4:44pm by Narie

joquita Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
joquita Posted 3 Dec 2006 , 6:19pm
post #1 of 13

I am really hoping to make some decorated Christmas cookies this year. Unfortunately, I do not have any supplies and no cake decorating store/michaels/etc. in our entire area. I will need to order stuff online so I need to order it right away or I am going to run out of time. to add to it, I am definitely not a good baker! icon_smile.gif I would still like to give it a try though. I was reading through the sugar cookie tutorial..do you think taht would be too hard for a beginner? is that the kind of icing you would recommend starting with?

what things should I order? I know I will need cookie cutters, a rolling pin...what else??? If you dont mind please be very detailed so taht I don't forget something and have to reorder or not be able to make them.
any tips before I give it a try?

Thanks...I REALLY APPRECIATE YOUR HELP!!!

12 replies
joquita Posted 3 Dec 2006 , 6:20pm
post #2 of 13

oops..forgot to ask if there are any store you would recommend ordering from? and which type of cookie cutters are best? thanks!!!

Narie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Narie Posted 3 Dec 2006 , 7:44pm
post #3 of 13

Cookie Cutters-durable plastic, they don't bend out of shape or rust like the tin ones, and simple designs, the intricate ones like a reindeer are difficult to get on to the cookie sheet without twisting out of shape and the fine edges burn easily.
Rolling Pin- again a simple wooden one is your best choice.
Two cookie sheets- good quality this where you should spend your money
parchment paper-to line your cookie sheets- this is available at most grocery stores. Silpat mats are nice, but they are expensive and can be added to your list at a later date.

The NFSC (no fail sugar cookie) recipe