Ohio Bakers- What Is Legal?

Business By jmbanks Updated 31 Mar 2008 , 1:10pm by MichelleM77

jmbanks Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jmbanks Posted 26 Sep 2007 , 11:38am
post #1 of 14

I know there are probably lots of questions on here about this but I can't find them. I am new at cake decorating and am currently doing it out of my kitchen. Right now I am baking cakes for family, friends and co-workers, but by word of mouth I am getting more people. Is it legal to do this from my kitchen or do I have to get a license. I heard something about a "cottage law" but I can't find the info about it and I can't find the laws on the ohio agriculture website. Also is it ok to put up a flyer a my work? I don't want to get in trouble for advertising w/out a license or anything. Thanks for any advice!

13 replies
Ladivacrj Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Ladivacrj Posted 26 Sep 2007 , 11:51am
post #2 of 14

Go to ohio.gov. It will give you the info you need.

You do not have to be licensed here, we have a cottage industry, but it requires that you label everything and certain things cannot to produced. You will have to look at the site for the details.

You can be inspected and licensed if you wish to at a small fee.

smoore Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
smoore Posted 26 Sep 2007 , 12:03pm
post #3 of 14

Here's the information you need:
http://www.ohioagriculture.gov/pubs/divs/food/food-licensing.stm
Within the chart, click on Division of Food Safety within the Home Bakery row. There will be a link on the next page for Cottage Foods.