Yellow Or White Cake Recipe Needed

Baking By Skylar Updated 26 Feb 2005 , 10:10pm by diane

Skylar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Skylar Posted 5 Feb 2005 , 2:38am
post #1 of 8

Hi! I'm pretty new to cake decorating and I always use a boxed cake mix. I would love to make a cake from scratch, but there are so many recipes that I don't know where to start. I really want a great recipe that my family will enjoy. Will anyone share their favorite yellow or white cake recipe? Thank you so much! princess.gif

7 replies
tcturtleshell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tcturtleshell Posted 21 Feb 2005 , 5:55am
post #2 of 8

Skylar,

Welcome! party.gif Get the book Cake Mix Dr. & dr up your cake mixes! That's what most of us decorators do! Use milk instead of water, use sour cream, pudding, buttermilk into your mixes. It's so easy & tastes homemade! Good Luck! icon_smile.gif ~Tina~

Skylar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Skylar Posted 22 Feb 2005 , 6:34pm
post #3 of 8

Thanks for the suggestion. I have been reading alot about that book. I'll have to purchase it and give it a try! icon_smile.gif

tcturtleshell Posted 23 Feb 2005 , 2:50am
post #4 of 8

Let us know how you like it~ icon_smile.gif

nashsmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nashsmom Posted 24 Feb 2005 , 4:46am
post #5 of 8

I found a copy of that book at my local library. It was nice to be able to check out the book before I bought it.

nejiad Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nejiad Posted 26 Feb 2005 , 1:06am
post #6 of 8

I HAVE READ THAT YOU USE PUDDING MIX IN THE BOX MIX CAN I KNOW HOW,YOU JUST MIX THE PUDDING WITH EVERITHIG OR DO I NEED TO PUT MORE MILK BECAUSE THE PUDDING IS DRIED. icon_redface.gif

tcturtleshell Posted 26 Feb 2005 , 3:49am
post #7 of 8

Use about 1 cup of milk or water & no more Nejiad. Didn't you just buy the Cake Mix Dr.'s Book? Look at one of the recipes that uses pudding & see how much milk or water it uses just to be sure. icon_smile.gif