I'm Wanting To Do My Own Wedding Cake...any Suggestions?

Decorating By shannonjustice Updated 24 Nov 2006 , 10:03am by denise4

shannonjustice Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
shannonjustice Posted 23 Nov 2006 , 1:59am
post #1 of 28

Hi, I'm kinda new to all this. I'm very creative. I've always done my childrens birthday cakes every year and now I'm attempting to do my own wedding cake. I've never done a wedding cake before, but there isn't a place anywhere in our small town that does custom made wedding cakes and well, I'm not wanting abunch of girlie-flowers on my cake!!! Does anybody have any advice for me? Like I said, I'm new to this and I'm really wanting to try fondant for my cake. I'm open to any suggestions from the simplest things to whatever problems you could think of that might occur. My wedding is Feb. 14th so I don't have a lot of time to practice. Any advice??? Thanks!

27 replies
nglez09 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nglez09 Posted 23 Nov 2006 , 2:08am
post #2 of 28

Why don't you buy one from us? icon_biggrin.gif

A book endorsed by many is "Wedding Cakes You Can Make" by Dede Wilson.

I bought Wilton's wedding cake book entitled Romantic. . .something. . . and it's pretty good.

If you could give us a little more insight, maybe we could be more of a help.

cocakedecorator Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cocakedecorator Posted 23 Nov 2006 , 2:08am
post #3 of 28

I was thinking about this when I got married and my hubby said NO WAY, you will be too stressed out with everything else going on. I would have loved to make my own cake, but now looking back on it I am glad I didn't. My only suggestion would be to make it simple as possible.

cocakedecorator Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cocakedecorator Posted 23 Nov 2006 , 2:09am
post #4 of 28