Cookie Bouquet Question

Baking By grumpyx07 Updated 20 Oct 2007 , 6:01am by lovely

grumpyx07 Posted 21 Sep 2007 , 5:16pm
post #1 of 18

I've been making decorated cookie for about 6-7 months now and just LOVE it! I wanted to try making a bouquet, but how do you get the cookie stick in the cookie and to stay? Also, do you use treat bags or shrink wrap to seal?

Any advice will be appreciated. Thanks!

17 replies
GeminiRJ Posted 21 Sep 2007 , 5:28pm
post #2 of 18

I lay the stick on the cookie sheet, then place the cookie on top of it. Gently press down on the cookie around the stick. You won't be able to bake as many at a time this way, but it's the easiest procedure for me. And I've never had a cookie fall off a stick. I usually use the treat bags...though I think the shrink wrap looks nicer.

leily Posted 21 Sep 2007 , 6:01pm
post #3 of 18

I bake my cookies like normal, let sit on cookie sheet for 2 mins, transfer to cooling rack, insert bamboo skewer into warm cookie. I have never had a cookie fall off unless i dropped one... but I don't think it would have mattered how i got the stick in there.

Meri8 Posted 23 Sep 2007 , 1:54am
post #4 of 18

I just did this for the first time, I made the NFSC a little thicker & put the stick in the raw cookie dough before baking as not to see the stick on each side. I twisted it in--like a screw-- in the middle, starting from an edge. They seem to be holding on well, I did not frost yet. They baked well. I made little stars & a big wilton flower, so far it is in there, good luck.

cambo Posted 25 Sep 2007 , 1:00pm
post #5 of 18

I insert my sticks immediately after I pull the cookies from the oven! As they cool, the cookie will really tighten around the stick! I've never had one fall off (knock on wood)!

sweetcakes Posted 26 Sep 2007 , 4:03am
post #6 of 18