Need Help With Fbct

Decorating By caryncorn Updated 20 Nov 2006 , 9:01pm by denise4

caryncorn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
caryncorn Posted 17 Nov 2006 , 9:57pm
post #1 of 10

Hi,
I'm making my Corvette loving brother a birthday cake this weekend and want to use the attached picture. Would the best way to do this be with a FBCT? I've never done one before so any tips would be appreciated. I've bookmarked the tutorial, but if anyone has any other useful tips, I could use them.

Also, can I do the FBCT with an all crisco buttercream recipe or does it make it easier to do it with the 1/2 butter 1/2 crisco one?

Thanks for any tips!
LL

9 replies
springlakecake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
springlakecake Posted 17 Nov 2006 , 10:10pm
post #2 of 10

If it were me, I would do a FBCT over the entire surface of your cake (filling in with the white) instead of trying to do the words separate from the logo. I have done this before (see my pooh smash cake, uncle sam and hibiscus cake if you dont understand what I mean). Maybe that is what you were planning, I dont know. Anyway make sure it is in mirror image (especially important for writing).

I know people have used an all crisco buttercream, but i use the 50/50. I like to do mine on the silicone treated parchment (wilton). I have NEVER had on stick to it. Some people swear by wax paper, I swear by the parchment.

You bc should be somewhat on the thin side.

The tutorial is excellent. The only thing I really do differently is to sort of push down on the back (instead of smoothing over with spatula. i am just too afraid.) If you use a crusting bc you can also smooth with a viva after it has thawed and crusted. Good luck!

caryncorn Posted 17 Nov 2006 , 11:12pm
post #3 of 10

Thanks, I was planning to make it the whole top of the cake as you suggested. Do you just pipe onto the parchment paper or do you coat it with something?

knoxcop1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
knoxcop1 Posted 18 Nov 2006 , 12:57am