Help! I Need Your Opinion!

Decorating By cindycakes Updated 28 Jul 2005 , 3:35pm by bjfranco

cindycakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cindycakes Posted 27 Jul 2005 , 3:31pm
post #1 of 11

I am making a baby shower cake this weekend for a close friend of mine and I want it to be perfect. The shower will have a "Rubber Ducky" theme so I was going to use the 3D duck pan and place it on a round cake with bubbles around it. My thought was to make cupcakes and cut them at different heights to put around the duck and then cover in white BC to make the bubbles but I am nervous that I will not get the bubbles to look good using BC. I am thinking about using MMF or Rolled BC but that makes me more nervous since I have never worked with either of these before. Plus I hear that they do not do well in humidity and living in the midwest, believe me, it is humid! I also am concerned about taste with the MMF or Rolled BC. Finally, I was going to use a luster dust on the "bubbles" and again, I have never used it. Is it easy to work with?

Any suggestions will be most welcome. Thank you!

10 replies
gma1956 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gma1956 Posted 27 Jul 2005 , 3:40pm
post #2 of 11
cakemommy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakemommy Posted 27 Jul 2005 , 3:45pm
post #3 of 11

I would go for the MMF! I hear that rolled buttercream is a pain to make. My sister made it and darn near burned out the motor in her KA! The duck cake by Lisa is very very cute! You can make the bubble out of the MMF! I think you would be adding more work for yourself by using cupcakes, unless there are going to be quite a few people at the shower and you need the extra cake.

Amy

briansbaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
briansbaker Posted 27 Jul 2005 , 3:45pm
post #4 of 11
bjfranco Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bjfranco Posted 27 Jul 2005 , 4:48pm
post #5 of 11