First Time Cake Dummie Prep

Decorating By trulyscrumptious Updated 20 Sep 2007 , 10:56pm by Lenore

trulyscrumptious Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
trulyscrumptious Posted 14 Sep 2007 , 3:22pm
post #1 of 13

Hi ya'll! I'm working on my OSSAS entry and one of my cakes is going to be on a dummie. The thing is I've never used one before and don't know how I should be preping it. Do I need to cover it with something? Sand the edges? When I'm done with it can I scrape off the fondant and use it again for something else? Any other things I need to be aware of when using one?
Thanks!
~Truly

12 replies
trulyscrumptious Posted 14 Sep 2007 , 6:51pm
post #2 of 13

Bump icon_cry.gif

abslu Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
abslu Posted 14 Sep 2007 , 8:51pm
post #3 of 13

Bump again . . . . I need answers to this too!!!

moydear77 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
moydear77 Posted 15 Sep 2007 , 6:04pm
post #4 of 13

I coat my dummie with piping gel. I have never reused a dummy as they are cheap to buy. I have twenty plus cakes still assembled in my work room.

sweetteacher Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetteacher Posted 15 Sep 2007 , 8:31pm
post #5 of 13