How Do I Choose An Air Brush System!?!?

Decorating By krazykat_14 Updated 12 Sep 2007 , 4:49pm by krazykat_14

krazykat_14 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
krazykat_14 Posted 11 Sep 2007 , 6:29pm
post #1 of 8

Ok, I'm just starting out as a hobby/leisure cake decorator. I love doing this, I've made my first wedding cake (which had some structural issues, but turned out alright otherwise, especially the fondant [see my pics]) and I'm considering stepping up to air brushing.

My problem is this: I don't have an extra $150 for even an inexpensive setup or anyone who is willing to spend that much on me for a birthday or Christmas. icon_sad.gif

If I were to get a cheap set using CO2 cartriges for doing nails, as long as it hasn't been used, couldn't I just use the food coloring/airbrush color in place of the nail polish?

I'd rather spend $15 to see if it fits my style first than to spend the big chunk to find out I don't like it! Has anyone tried this, could it work, any thoughts/ideas/opinions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!!!

7 replies
kitterman12003 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kitterman12003 Posted 11 Sep 2007 , 6:36pm
post #2 of 8

i dont know how the c02 system would work, but as far as airbrushing being your style. well you can do anthing with airbrushes. they are absolutley awesome! i have that nice setup from copykake, that is adjustable, and it is amazing the things i can do with it! i hope you find one for you. they really are an amazing tool to have in the old tool box!!! thumbs_up.gif

venecakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
venecakes Posted 11 Sep 2007 , 6:46pm
post #3 of 8

The best airbrush system is the Kopykake air-master. It cost me around $250 and haven't used it much. But if you want something that will last for ever, this is somenthig to consider. Good luck in your search

deetmar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
deetmar Posted 11 Sep 2007 , 11:53pm
post #4 of 8