Painting With Food Coloring

Decorating By cakenut516 Updated 11 Sep 2007 , 8:06pm by dominique26

cakenut516 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakenut516 Posted 11 Sep 2007 , 4:41pm
post #1 of 10

I often paint details onto my modelled figures (like faces) using powdered black food coloring mixed with vodka or lemon extract. However, my "paint" sometimes comes out too thin (and not black enough) or too clumpy. Does anyone have a better painting mixture? Or a suggested brand of powdered food coloring? I'd like my "paint" to go on more smoothly since often I apply a lot of tiny details to my work with a very fine paintbrush. Thanks.

9 replies
tnuty Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tnuty Posted 11 Sep 2007 , 4:49pm
post #2 of 10

I havent tried it yet but I was planning on painting my faces on my faries with my airbrush coloring set...Ill let you know how that works..

ctackett Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ctackett Posted 11 Sep 2007 , 4:50pm
post #3 of 10

I am new to the sculpting thing. But I have been using Wilton's color gel and put it directly on the brush and paint with that

JaneK Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JaneK Posted 11 Sep 2007 , 4:54pm
post #4 of 10

I used powdered colours when I painted my wine bottle cake and my paint (mixed with clear lemon extract) was a bit grainy..but OK..

A better mix IMHO to use when you do figures is the gel colours mixed with a tiny bit of clear lemon extract or vodka...it is very smooth and the colours are pretty true.

SugarMoonCakeCo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SugarMoonCakeCo Posted 11 Sep 2007 , 4:58pm
post #5 of 10

i use wilton gel (thus far) mixed with a little almond extract

dominique26 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dominique26 Posted 11 Sep 2007 , 5:01pm
post #6 of 10