Practice-First Wedding Cake

Decorating By sweetcreation Updated 8 Nov 2006 , 10:55pm by thems_my_kids

sweetcreation Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetcreation Posted 8 Nov 2006 , 9:44pm
post #1 of 6

Here is a practice cake of the wedding cake I am doing next weekend. It is my first wedding cake. Being over here in Japan, on a military base, people can only get quality cakes from home bakers. So, this person knows I am new to this and not a professional.

I am pretty pleased with how the design came out. I used the small c scroll pattern press. All other designs are freehand. I don't like the hidden pillar look, but that is what the customer requested. There will also be another tier, a 10" round with the same design as the 6" round. I have tried several smoothing methods and the viva paper towel still seems to work best for me. I would love to try the foam roller technique, but I am limited in what I can find over here.

I have received advice and tips from a few cake decorators who have also made this cake design and I appreciate their insight. If you have any comments or suggestions to share, I would greatly appreciate them.
LL

5 replies
ChRiStY_71 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ChRiStY_71 Posted 8 Nov 2006 , 9:50pm
post #2 of 6

Very pretty! What kind of topper will you be using? Will you add piping around the pillars or hide them with flowers?

Here's a salute to our military families at home and abroad! usaribbon.gifthumbs_up.gif

FFC Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FFC Posted 8 Nov 2006 , 9:51pm
post #3 of 6

That looks great thumbs_up.gif I did my first and only wedding cake last September for my mother's wedding. Boy was that fun. 3 tiered but not stacked.

OhMyGoodies Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
OhMyGoodies Posted 8 Nov 2006 , 9:51pm
post #4 of 6

If at all possible I'd go with smaller pillers that way it doesn't put such a huge hole in the cake but it still supports it. icon_smile.gif Otherwise it looks great icon_smile.gif