Why Am I So Afraid?

Decorating By SueW Updated 10 Nov 2006 , 8:23pm by tiptop57

SueW Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SueW Posted 4 Nov 2006 , 11:44pm
post #1 of 13

I am new to decorating and really want to give it a shot but I find myself so scared to be bad at it that I am barely practicing.So far I feel like all the things I have tried have been a disaster. I spend hours on CC taking notes and looking at the gallery pictures but barely try to attempt it myself. I start to sweat just at the thought of using fondant. My husband said the other day, instead of spending so much time on line why don't you practice. I was so mad at first but then I realized he is right. Why am I so afraid?

Just for the record, I made a cookies and cream cake today and the whole middle collapsed. Maybe I am just not good at this??? Does anyone else feel this way?

12 replies
Ursula40 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Ursula40 Posted 4 Nov 2006 , 11:47pm
post #2 of 13

Hi Sue,
it'a all in the practice, just make cakes for yourself in the beginning. Give yourself time to make it, and don't put yourself under pressure. Just do it to have fun. Don't make it for a special occasion either, fun is special enough. In the beginning, it's a mindset. Have fun and you will be more relaxed

rachie_blue Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rachie_blue Posted 4 Nov 2006 , 11:49pm
post #3 of 13

You have nothing to worry about. I looked at your cakes and they look great! thumbs_up.gif

FatAndHappy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FatAndHappy Posted 4 Nov 2006 , 11:51pm
post #4 of 13

Hang in there - and at the risk of sounding like my mother - "Practice makes perfect!!!"