Oprah, Dr Oz And Crisco

Decorating By doleta Updated 8 Nov 2006 , 12:55am by Jenc95

doleta Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
doleta Posted 3 Nov 2006 , 3:06pm
post #1 of 91

Did anyone else see Oprah yesterday?
I was blown away by the liver Dr Oz showed that was bleached out from eating hydrogenated oil (like Crisco).
He called it a fatty liver.
I'm a nurse so I should know better, but....
I had no idea that it would make a liver look like that! icon_eek.gif
I'm swearing off frosting tapedshut.gif
Except for a tiny taste. icon_razz.gif
Yuck!
No wonder I'm getting FAT!

90 replies
moydear77 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
moydear77 Posted 3 Nov 2006 , 3:14pm
post #2 of 91

I have seen this before. That is why I use butter because your body knows how to process butter.
There is a email going around about putting margarine or Crisco outside. See how many bugs go to it.

I try to cut back on Hydrogenated oil and High Fructose corn syrup. Another one is Enriched flour.

cmcgarr Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cmcgarr Posted 3 Nov 2006 , 3:25pm
post #3 of 91

I did the experiment with Crisco, margarine, and butter in elementary school, and true enough, there were bugs in the butter and none in the crisco and margarine. I've never used it since! (We also did the same experiment with water, but I can't remember what kinds we used ie. filtered, RO, spring)

I make SMBC all the time now. Sure it takes a lot longer, but it's totally worth the taste and it's better for your body.

saraott Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
saraott Posted 3 Nov 2006 , 3:30pm
post #4 of 91

Oh my gosh. I am horrified and disgusted. icon_smile.gif I'm done with shortening now, even if the bugs are going to share my butter with me. And I also have a stupid question: what is SMBC? Some sort of butter cream?

auntsushi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
auntsushi Posted 3 Nov 2006 , 3:31pm
post #5 of 91