Stacking Cakes Iced With Meringue Buttercream

Decorating By pinkincolorado Updated 26 May 2005 , 7:15pm by CDhartman

pinkincolorado Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pinkincolorado Posted 30 Jan 2005 , 7:01am
post #1 of 6

I just joined the forum, and am learning sooo much already !!! I've been decorating cakes for a few years now. I used to use a crusting buttercream, with butter, shortening, and powdered sugar. I've recently discovered meringue buttercreams, and others that use a hot syrup mixture mixed into either egg whites or yolks, and then finished off with butter. While this type of icing yields very smooth finishes, I'm wondering, how would you stack several cakes on top of one another (like for a wedding cake) when the cakes are so fragile that any little touches would definitely "show" on the cake?? Would you assemble first, then frost?? I'm confused... help!!

Thanks icon_smile.gif

5 replies
luceymoose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
luceymoose Posted 12 May 2005 , 3:03pm
post #2 of 6

I'm not sure what to do here. Do you pour the icing onto the cakes?

Lisa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lisa Posted 12 May 2005 , 3:40pm
post #3 of 6

You could assemble first and frost if the design of the cake let's you. If not, use a large spatula...two if you've got'em. Slide them under the cake board and gently lift the cakes to set them on top of one another. The idea is to try not to touch the cakes so you don't mess up the finish.

missjane Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
missjane Posted 12 May 2005 , 3:46pm
post #4 of 6

I would refrigerate the cakes first once you have iced each tier. These buttercreams become very hard in the fridge so you should have no problems icon_smile.gif

heavenlycakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
heavenlycakes Posted 26 May 2005 , 7:00pm
post #5 of 6