Black Icing Bleeding Into White Icing

Decorating By heather1 Updated 3 Sep 2007 , 2:11am by Erika513x2

heather1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
heather1 Posted 31 Aug 2007 , 7:13pm
post #1 of 16

Does anyone know how to prevent black icing from fading(pink to red tint) into my white icing. Done a cake for a customer last night and this morning there was a pink to reddish tint all aroung where the back icing was. Is there a way to prevent this? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

15 replies
Erika513x2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Erika513x2 Posted 31 Aug 2007 , 7:19pm
post #2 of 16

i had the same issue before and threw it in the fridge.
do you have your cake out? b/c you might have to put it in th fridge. GL

justsweet Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
justsweet Posted 31 Aug 2007 , 7:20pm
post #3 of 16

What brand are you using?

I stopped using wilton due to the colors bleed.

I have been using Americolor for the last three years and have no bleeding or fading problem with any of the colors.

heather1 Posted 31 Aug 2007 , 7:33pm
post #4 of 16

Yes I had my cake sitting out. Did it help by putting it in the fridge?
I used the Americolor brand.

gailjoe Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gailjoe Posted 31 Aug 2007 , 8:10pm
post #5 of 16

i've had the same issue, hope someone can help you and some of us too. i've een had it to happen with the red. gail

avenje Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
avenje Posted 31 Aug 2007 , 8:14pm
post #6 of 16

With me, I've noticed that it happens on the 2nd day, even though it's been refrigerated the whole time. I always figured it was the moisture in the fridge that made it bleed.

Omicake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Omicake Posted 31 Aug 2007 , 8:55pm
post #7 of 16

Justsweet,

What buttercream recipe do you use?I was wondering if the bleeding problem was due to the recipe used. And you have a hot climate in California and surprisingly , no bleeding problem.