Price For Cake Balls?

Business By starbird43 Updated 14 Dec 2012 , 1:25am by auzzi

starbird43 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
starbird43 Posted 31 Aug 2007 , 3:56am
post #1 of 20

Well, I finally made some cake balls!! I work in a factory, and my co-workers are my guinea pigs icon_smile.gif Needless to say, they are in love! I made a few varieties, but the one they LOVE is marble cake with toffee nut creamer dipped in milk chocolate. I had one lady want 2 dozen then asked for a dozen for her neighbor! I just made another lady 3 dozen to go on vacation with her over the holiday!! How much do I charge them? The first ones, she gave me $2.50 a dozen. I don't know if that price is worth my time hand rolling them, and then hand dipping them! I have had to make cakes just to make them. However, I can't really set a price, I live in Michigan and I am not allowed to charge if I am not licensed (as far as what I have been told) So the $2.50 came about when the first lady asked my how much. I just told her I don't know, what do you think. She asked me what I had into them, but I got as far as how much the chocolate cost and she said she would give me $5.00 for the 2 dozen. (about what I have into the chocolate per dozen) Long story, sorry! Anyway, how much should I be charging for them? FYI, I make them to be about the size of a truffle you would get from Godiva.

19 replies
GI Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
GI Posted 31 Aug 2007 , 4:09am
post #2 of 20

$2.50 is pennies. I don't know what to charge... one lady here on CC was charging $15/doz for her cake bites. Or was it $16? Think of it like you would for candy..how much do they weigh? You are not making a profit and I'll bet you are losing $$cash on the deal. I would up my price.

Just my 2cents!

PatricesPieces Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PatricesPieces Posted 31 Aug 2007 , 4:13am
post #3 of 20