Does It Ever Go Away?

Decorating By Copacabanya Updated 28 Aug 2007 , 5:48pm by kjgjam22

Copacabanya Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Copacabanya Posted 26 Aug 2007 , 5:01pm
post #1 of 17

I have been decorating on my own, just your typical character pan type cakes, for about 5 or 6 years. Just self taught, nothing spectacular, but not too terrible either. Finally this year I started taking the Wilton courses and I have done fairly well. I thought I was getting more confident, I was ready to start making cakes for people. Then last week someone asked me if I could do a birthday cake and suggested I might need do a wedding shower as well. This is what I have been waiting, and practing, for, right? But the more I think about it the worse my nerves get, the lower my confidence goes, and I am seriously doubting myself and my work!

I don't know how to put my question into words really, this may sound stupid...but does that feeling ever go away? lol Does it get any easier? I know we are our own worst critics but I look at my cakes and I think they are "okay" until I think about making one for someone else. I would love to do cakes on a fairly regular basis but I just don't know if my nerves can handle this. icon_lol.gif

How do you deal with the nerves, build up your confidence? I know practice will make it better but then I think maybe my pesky perfectionist nature will never let me be totally confident in my abilities. icon_confused.gif Any advice from you seasoned pros?

Anya

16 replies
rosita6882 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rosita6882 Posted 26 Aug 2007 , 5:53pm
post #2 of 17