Can Anyone Help Me Grow A Backbone!

Decorating By bncncnmn Updated 26 Aug 2007 , 11:13pm by Blue0877

bncncnmn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bncncnmn Posted 24 Aug 2007 , 6:57pm
post #1 of 46

I NEED HELP I CAN'T SEEM TO SAY NO TO MY FAMILY! My niece ask the other day if I would make her uncle a cake mind you I don't even like this guy he makes my skin crawl My husband said sure for 35 dollars she said, can't I just buy the supplies he told her no. Fast forward to today when her mother called and said you need to make my brother a cake and I don't have the money to pay you I will buy your supplies. And I caved in so quick. I don't think I will ever have a backbone I always let people walk all over me. I think the worst part is I feel like they are saying that my cakes are not worth the money that I charge. I have told them that I am really new to decorating and it takes me about 3 hours just for a simple cake. I know that my cakes aren't the best but I still think they should pay me for my time. SOme time s I can't stand my family. Sorry for ranting so long. icon_cry.gif

45 replies
snowshoe1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
snowshoe1 Posted 24 Aug 2007 , 7:06pm
post #2 of 46

I'm sure its tough saying no to family or friends. Once I had a friend who is a website designer ask me to make her a cake (again) and I told her sure 'after she gave me a free website.' She said it wasn't the same as websites take alot of work, creativity, server costs, etc...

So next time someone asks you for something for free ask them to balance your checkbook, clean your house, walk your dog, etc... May sound a bit nasty, but it weeds 'em out and gets your point across (usually you'll laugh about it together).

7yyrt Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
7yyrt Posted 24 Aug 2007 , 7:10pm
post #3 of 46

You do not 'need' to make him a cake.
Nobody 'needs' a cake.
If he did 'need' a cake, it's not your responsibility to provide it.
You however, DO need to be paid for your time.